Prof. Michael F. Murphy, MD, FRCP, FRCPath, FFPath

Mike Murphy is Professor of Transfusion Medicine at the University of Oxford and Consultant Haematologist for NHS Blood & Transplant (NHSBT) and Oxford University Hospitals.

His work encompasses the clinical management of patients with immunohaematological disorders and hospital transfusion practice where he and his team have pioneered electronic processes for patient safety and the appropriate use of blood. He was a recipient of the British Blood Transfusion Society's Kenneth Goldsmith Award for research in 1994, and co-founded the NHSBT Clinical Studies Unit, the Systematic Reviews Initiative for transfusion medicine, the Transfusion Evidence Library (, and the National Comparative Audit of Blood Transfusion program in the 2000s.

Professor Murphy was Secretary of the National Blood Transfusion Committee in England from its establishment in 2001 to 2015. He chaired the UK National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) guideline on transfusion published in November 2015. He was Chair of the international BEST Research Collaborative from 2014 to 2018 and is the immediate Past President of AABB.